Wonderful atheist statement

Whew…Again, it’s been a reeeaaally long while since I last wrote a weblog. A new semester has come, and more work are impending. Unfortunately, I really don’t have much writing time left out of academic and personal work, which is sad since I have tons of ideas and opinions/views I’d like to write about. And of course, comments (pro and against mine) are welcome, just as long as they’re rational and calm in nature (^)__(^).

Well then, here’s a quotation from a book I recently found in a bookshop, and which I plan to buy and read. It just amazed me how it can sum up what I think, know, and feel atheism is for me right now:

“It is not my purpose to convert people to atheism…(but to) demonstrate that the belief in God is irrational to the point of absurdity. If a person wishes to continue believing in a god, this is his prerogative, but he can no longer excuse his belief in the name of reason and moral necessity.”

– George Smith, Atheism- The Case Against God

Pretty strong words you think?

Well, if you’re a believer, I think the best way to prove George Smith is wrong is to read his work then refute him, which would also be a very good test of your faith.

I think it can be observed that, although I lack the numerical or statistical proof right now, many theists/deists often criticize atheists without even really understanding, or even reading at the least, their works. Most atheists on the other hand, may have had their fare share of theist/deist works, the Bible not the least, in their intellectual stockpile. This is the reason why, I think, many believers often misinterpret or use in an entirely fallacious manner the works of scientists and atheists, such as this case (and here)

For non-believers like me, the challenge is to still read the book and see if George Smith’s work lives up to the expectations garnered by his words at the book’s back cover.

If anyone has read/is reading this book, please feel free to send your comments and insights here, whether it be pro or against the book.

https://i0.wp.com/images.amazon.com/images/P/087975124X.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

For those of you who want a sneek peak, click here

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Wonderful atheist statement”

  1. Academic answere to the question: Am I An Atheist Or An Agnostic? « F241vc15′ Weblog Says:

    […] as Richard Dawkins, whom I also admire. At this point in my life, as I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, I maintain my atheism but still with scientific curiosity and humility that we do not know yet (or […]

  2. Academic answer to the question: Am I An Atheist Or An Agnostic? « F241vc15′ Weblog Says:

    […] as Richard Dawkins, whom I also admire. At this point in my life, as I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, I maintain my atheism but still with scientific curiosity and humility that we do not know yet (or […]

Leave a Reply

