Quite Quotable Quotes: The Big Bang Theory

The Big Bang Theory (TBBT) is undoubtedly my favorite sitcom so far. I’ve never really been into sitcoms actually. Some of the last few ones I watched were (believe it or not) Seinfeld, Fraser, and Friends, and I didn’t really get into them that much. I just watched a few episodes here and there, usually with my dad or with my sister when we were much younger. TBBT has fervently rekindled my attention towards sitcoms, in such a magnitude I can only describe as the energy needed to accelerate an electron to 0.99% the speed of light πŸ™‚

Needless to say, there are quite a lot of sources on the Internet for what TBBT is all about. Wikipedia or a simple Google search or a quick visit to the official site should do fine for a start. What it is to me however, is a brilliant show that combines geeks, nerds, comic books, sci-fi, technology, physics , science, and jokes together, and still be absolutely entertaining and humorous. In other words, much as what the Gay Liberation has done to reinvigorate gay pride, TBBT has reinvigorated the geek pride in me. The writers and producers are themselves geeks and nerds, watch Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica and read comic books. But they also treat the characters in the show with such respect that even if you’re not one of “them” (or in this case, one of “us”), you’d still find respect for them (or “us”). TBBT has I think, no doubt inspired many reluctant geeks and nerds, not just in America but across the globe where TBBT is being shown, to go out and be really proud to be geeks.

Without further ado, here are some of my favorite quotes from the first season:

From the season 1 Pilot episode:

Leonard: We need to widen our circle.
Sheldon: I have a very wide circle. I have 212 friends on myspace.
Leonard: Yes, and you’ve never met one of them.
Sheldon: That’s the beauty of it!

And yet another from the same episode:

Penny: I’m a Sagittarius, which probably tells you way more than you need to know.
Sheldon: Yes, it tells us that you participate in the mass cultural delusion that the sun’s apparent position relative to arbitrarily defined constellations at the time of your birth somehow affects your personality.
Penny: (puzzled) Participate in the what?

And another:

Sheldon: Okay, look, I think you have as much of a chance of having a sexual relationship with Penny as the Hubble telescope does of discovering that at the center of every black hole is a little man with a flashlight searching for a circuit breaker. Nevertheless, I do feel obligated to point out to you that she did not reject you. You did not ask her out.

another:

Leonard: (talking about him and Penny) Our children will be smart and beautiful.

Sheldon: Not to mention imaginary.

And from the succeeding episodes:

Sheldon: You have to check your messages, Leonard! Leaving a message is one-half of a social contract, which is completed by the checking of the message. If that contract breaks down, then all social contracts break down and we descend into anarchy.
Leonard: It must be hell inside your head.
Sheldon: At times.

Wolowitz: If it’s “creepy” to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I’m “creepy”.

πŸ˜€

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Quite Quotable Quotes: The Big Bang Theory”

  1. Joel Voss Says:

    I hope you wouldn’t mind helping me with this since I’m new to wordpress. I’ve racked my brain with what I’ve done so far, but still long to have a nice small border like yours with the rounded corners. I finally managed to change the back ground color, but wouldn’t mind getting ride of the white for another softer color which seems to appear when changing screens. Hope you can give me some much needed advice.
    Thanks in advance.

    PS..I’m trying to match it up as close to my website as possible.

    • f241vc15 Says:

      Hi Joel

      I’m not sure if you noticed but although it would seem I’m using the default theme and header of WordPress (Kubrick theme), I actually uploaded my own modified version of the header. It’s a bit of a hack actually. . What I first did was I saved the default WP header, modified it to include the bloodied smiley from “Watchmen”. After I uploaded my modified header, I found out that it didn’t have the smooth rounded edges it had before, which really annoyed me aesthetically. So the trick/hack I did was I checked the default size of the WP header (720 by something pixels, cant’ remember. It should be shown in the administration page where you can change the header). Then after I modified the WP header, I made sure that the result was still 720 by X pixels in size. The result is what you are seeing in my blog header now πŸ™‚
      It’s not actually a very neat trick/hack since I didn’t use other more sophisticated image editing process other than basic ones such as cropping. That’s why if you look really close, there are still small white portions on the upper edges of the border which aren’t so rounded.
      If you have other questions just post them πŸ™‚

  2. Joel Voss Says:

    Thanks for the reply, but how did you get rid of the gray side bar (as seen on my blog) was that by increasing to 720? And do you know of a way to get ride of the white back ground?

    • f241vc15 Says:

      Oh that one? I didn’t edit the CSS nor other images of my WP theme. The only thing I edited and changed is my blog’s header (the one you see with a bloodied smiley on it). If you did edit your CSS, I would suggest you return your theme to the default if you can, and start again with the header this time.

    • f241vc15 Says:

      You might just want to stick with the default theme + your preferred color of it, and just edit the header using an image manipulation software. That’s what i did since i didn’t want to mess with the border. And as i’ve mentioned, I edited the header in such a way that it still fits the recommended header size of WP (720 x XX pixels), which also then fits the rest of the theme including the border. Hope that helps.

  3. benj Says:

    It’s absolutely awesome. I’m Sheldon – minus 60 IQ points. hahaha

    • f241vc15 Says:

      From the recent Big Bang theory episode (episode 5 season 3) Sheldon and I now have another thing in common: We both dislike Wil Wheaton form Star Trek: The Next Generation, albeit for different reasons. πŸ™‚

    • f241vc15 Says:

      Benj

      Any favorite lines in particular? I’m sure you must have some. πŸ˜€

  4. Sathepine Says:

    Waaah! Do you have more quotes? Sheldon is the best hehehe

    Here are some that I remember:
    “I’m not insane, my mother had me tested!” – Sheldon
    “I can’t be impossible. I exist. I think what you meant to say is: ‘I give up, he’s improbable.'” – Sheldon
    I also like that one said by Leonard to Sheldon about using chocolate to modify the behavior of Penny hehehe but I can’t remember the exact line.

    BTW, I like Fraser, Friends, and Seinfeld too.

    • f241vc15 Says:

      πŸ˜€ Those are indeed cool (and relatively new) quotes from TBBT. Don’t forget the quotes at the end of the 1st episode of season 3, wherein Sheldon and his mom were arguing about creationism and evolution! Absolutely hilarious. πŸ˜€
      The part about chocolate affecting behavior is obviously a reference to the social sciences such as psychology.
      The part about being improbable, aside from being related to mathematics, is most probably taken from the comic book/movie “Watchmen”. πŸ˜‰

  5. Watch Good TV Says:

    Nice Post, better still I’m able to view it on my new iPhone.

Leave a Reply

